ElectroRockFolk / CountryRap / Hip-hopPopJazzLatinReggaeBluesSoul / FunkClassicalScreen / StageBrassRecordsFor childrenOther
» » Martin Carthy - Shearwater
Martin Carthy - Shearwater album download


Martin Carthy




Folk / Country

MP3 album size:

1172 mb

Other music formats:



4.5 ✱





Date of release:


Martin Carthy - Shearwater album download

Shearwater is an album by Martin Carthy, released in 1972 on the Pegasus label as PEG12. It was re-released on vinyl in 1973/74 by Mooncrest as CREST25. The album was re-issued on CD in 1995, by Mooncrest, as CRESTCD 008 and then again, in March 2005 by Castle Music, as CMQCD1096. All songs traditional. I Was a Young Man" (Roud 1572) – 2:46. Banks of Green Willow" (Roud 172; Child 24) – 4:31. Handsome Polly-O" (Roud 545) – 2:31. Outlandish Knight" (Roud 21; Child 4) – 5:25.

Martin Carthy cut this solo album in 1971, immediately after he exited Steeleye Span following two albums with them, Please to See the King and Ten Man Map. The material is very spare, featuring Carthy and his guitar alone (except on "Betsy Bell and Mary Gray," and where Steeleye Span alumnus Maddy Prior appears on vocals), or his voice alone, and his approach is very studied and deliberative here, as though reveling in the fact of singing and playing alone for the first time in several years.

Shearwater (album), 1972 album by Martin Carthy. Shearwater (band), indie rock band from Austin, Texas, USA. Shearwater I, one of the earliest modern catamarans, developed in England circa 1949-1950. Shearwater III, the world's first modern production catamaran, developed in England in the 1950s. Shearwater International, a . educational technology company.

Martin Carthy (album). Martin Carthy is the debut solo album by English folk musician Martin Carthy, originally released in 1965 by Fontana Records and later re-issued by Topic Records. The album features Dave Swarbrick playing fiddle or mandolin on a number of the tracks. Swarbrick was not headlined on the album for contractual reasons as he was with the Ian Campbell Folk Group at the time with permission granted by Transatlantic Records

Album by Martin Carthy. I Was A Young Man. Banks of Green Willow. He Called For A Candle. Famous Flowers Of Serving Man. Betsy Bell And Mary Gray. The False Lover Won Back. MusicBrainz: Shearwater.


1 I Was A Young Man
2 Banks Of Green Willow
3 Handsome Polly-O
4 Outlandish Knight
5 He Called For A Candle
6 John Blunt
7 Lord Randall
8 William Taylor
9 Famous Flower Of Serving Men
10 Betsy Bell And Mary Gray


  • Arranged By, Vocals, Acoustic Guitar – Martin Carthy
  • Art Direction, Design – David Berney Wade, Farrell
  • Engineer – Jerry Boys
  • Photography – Keith Morris
  • Producer – Terry Brown
  • Vocals – Maddy Prior (tracks: 10)
  • Written-By – Traditional


℗ 1972

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5014438800823

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
PEG 12 Martin Carthy Shearwater ‎(LP, Album) PEG PEG 12 UK 1972
CREST 008 Martin Carthy Shearwater ‎(LP, Album, RE) Mooncrest CREST 008 UK 1991
CAS 36210-2 Martin Carthy Shearwater ‎(CD, Album) Castle Music CAS 36210-2 US 2005
CMQCD1096 Martin Carthy Shearwater ‎(CD, Album, RE) Castle Music CMQCD1096 UK 2005
Y8PEG 12 Martin Carthy Shearwater ‎(8-Trk, Album) PEG Y8PEG 12 UK 1972

MP3 FLAC related to Martin Carthy - Shearwater