ElectroRockFolk / CountryRap / Hip-hopPopJazzLatinReggaeBluesSoul / FunkClassicalScreen / StageBrassRecordsFor childrenOther
» » John Coltrane - Impressions
John Coltrane - Impressions album download


John Coltrane





MP3 album size:

1548 mb

Other music formats:



4.2 ✱


Free Jazz, Post Bop

Date of release:


John Coltrane - Impressions album download

Impressions is a 1963 album of live and studio recordings by jazz musician John Coltrane. Tracks 1 and 3 were recorded live at the Village Vanguard in November 1961, while tracks 2 and 4 were recorded at Van Gelder Studio, respectively on September 18, 1962 and April 29, 1963. Track 5, "Dear Old Stockholm" did not appear on the original release, but appears on later reissues. The album was originally released in 1963 on the Impulse! label.

Impressions is a hodgepodge of memorable John Coltrane performances from the 1961-1963 period. India" and "Impressions" are taken from Trane's famous November 1961 engagement at the Village Vanguard; bass clarinetist Eric Dolphy is heard on the former while the latter features a marathon solo from Coltrane on tenor. Also included on this set are 1962's "Up 'Gainst the Wall" and the classic of the album, 1963's "After the Rain.

Composed By – John Coltrane. Drums – Elvin Jones (tracks: A1 to B1), Roy Haynes (tracks: B2). Mastered By – Rudy Van Gelder. Photography By – Joe Alper. Producer – Bob Thiele. Soprano Saxophone – John Coltrane (tracks: A1). Tenor Saxophone – John Coltrane (tracks: A2 to B2).

One of John Coltrane's great LPs of the early '60s, Impressions might seem like a hodgepodge, with tracks from three different sessions in three different years. The two long and "India"-come from Coltrane's November 1961 stand at the Village Vanguard, and together they represent the poles of Coltrane's conception at the time

Cover artwork for John Coltrane’s Both Directions at Once: the Lost Album. Photograph: Impulse! Both Directions at Once was recorded at an intensely fertile time for Coltrane and his quartet – as well as Ballads and Impressions, he also released a collaboration with Duke Ellington in 1963.

Coltrane is a 1962 studio album by jazz saxophonist John Coltrane. When reissued on CD, it featured a Coltrane composition dedicated to his hero "Big Nick" Nicholas which Coltrane would record later the same year with his Ellington collaboration Duke Ellington & John Coltrane. The composition "Tunji" was written by Coltrane in dedication to the Nigerian drummer, Babatunde Olatunji.

Impressions (John Coltrane album). Impressions is a 1963 album of both live and studio recordings by jazz musician John Coltrane.

Продавец: Интернет-магазин Ozon. Адрес: Россия, Москва, Пресненская набережная, 10. ОГРН: 1027739244741

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Afro Blue
Written-By – Mongo Santamaria
2 Alabama
Written-By – John Coltrane
3 Impressions
Written-By – John Coltrane
4 Every Time You Say Goodbye
Written-By – Cole Porter
5 Impressions #2
Written-By – John Coltrane
6 My Favorite Things
Written-By – Rodgers-Hart*


  • Bass – Jimmy Garrison (tracks: 1 to 3, 6), Reggie Workman (tracks: 4, 5)
  • Drums – Elvin Jones
  • Flute, Alto Saxophone – Eric Dolphy (tracks: 4, 5)
  • Piano – McCoy Tyner
  • Tenor Saxophone, Soprano Saxophone – John Coltrane


Tracks 1-3 recorded in San Francisco, December 7, 1963.
Tracks 4-5 recorded in Baden, Germany, November 24, 1961.
Track 6 recorded in Belgium, August, 1965.

TRT: 50 Minutes.
Black & White.
Live sessions were recorded in Mono. DVD plays stereo.


A1 India 13:52
A2 Up 'Gainst The Wall 3:12
B1 Impressions 14:40
B2 After The Rain 4:07

Companies, etc.

  • Recorded At – Village Vanguard
  • Record Company – ABC-Paramount Records, Inc.
  • Designed At – Viceroy
  • Published By – Jowcol Music
  • Mastered At – Longwear Plating


  • Alto Saxophone – Eric Dolphy (tracks: B1)
  • Bass – Jimmy Garrison, Reggie Workman (tracks: A1)
  • Bass Clarinet – Eric Dolphy (tracks: A1)
  • Design [Cover] – Robert Flynn
  • Design [Liner] – Joe Lebow
  • Drums – Elvin Jones (tracks: A1 to B1), Roy Haynes (tracks: B2)
  • Photography By [Cover And Liner] – Joe Alper
  • Piano – McCoy Tyner
  • Producer – Bob Thiele
  • Soprano Saxophone – John Coltrane (tracks: A1)
  • Tenor Saxophone – John Coltrane (tracks: A2 to B2)
  • Written-By – John Coltrane (tracks: A1 to B2)


Original first STEREO press
Orange-black labels
Different layout to Impressions

ABC-Paramount Records inner sleeve
Impulse Records a product of ABC-Paramount Records, Inc.

Recording dates:
A1 & B1 are recorded live at the Village Vanguard. NYC, 5 November, 1961.
A2 recorded 18 September, 1962.

B2 recorded 29 April, 1963.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Runout side A etched - LW sideways): AS - 42 · A LW
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout side B etched - LW sideways): AS - 42· B LW
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A & B stamped): STEREO VAN GELDER
  • Rights Society: BMI

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
A-42 John Coltrane Impressions ‎(LP, Album, Mono, Gat) Impulse! A-42 US 1963
AS-42 John Coltrane Impressions ‎(LP, Album, RE, Gat) ABC Impulse!, Impulse! AS-42 US 1974
VIM-4612 John Coltrane Impressions ‎(LP, Album, RE, Gat) MCA Records VIM-4612 Japan 1980
A-42, AS-42 John Coltrane Impressions ‎(LP, Album, Gat) Impulse!, MCA Records A-42, AS-42 US 1980
AS-42, MCA-29014 John Coltrane Impressions ‎(LP, RE) Impulse!, MCA Records AS-42, MCA-29014 US 1980

A fairly good DVD for the price I paid. The first three sets are probably the best on here. Alabama is a strong track and features John Coltrane doing some of his best work. A well written track by any Sax artist. The topper is track 3, Impressions, the mood starts off rythmic with a hint of darkness and then goes into John's classic free-jazz pop style. The problem with this track is you can't here Jimmy Garrison's bass at all. I even put my head up to the TV speaker. The reason why I point this out is the poor man is pouring with sweat while he plays. It's actually dripping off his nose. Luckly though he plays a 4 minute solo that's simply nuts! The last track has the worst tape recording and is just garbage to watch. Overall a good addition for any Coltrane lover. I never got to see him play till watching this and it shows how much heart he put into his play.

MP3 FLAC related to John Coltrane - Impressions